Sharing is Progress

For a short while now I have been undergoing a personal research into ideas of open-source, data sharing and collaboration, and the benefits of these things. I am still learning a lot—trying to better understand them, the motives and the incentives that people can find in them and ultimately… why?—but I do believe that this is the future. Not just in the design world, but in science, art, mathematics, education an so on; I feel through an open-source culture the world will develop into what can one day be called, a mile stone in cultural and social evolution.

It was not my intention to get so heavy, it kind of just happened. The point I had intended to make is that from now on I think I will put my money where my mouth is. From now on I want to share almost everything, namely ideas.

I am victim, as much as every other human, of the human condition and I automatically feel an ownership of anything I feel may be a good idea, and, as with anything else I own and cherish, I want to protect it. But if I am to act on the beliefs stated above, I must start abiding to an egoless design incentive (studying and occasionally working in the design world, I feel it is a reasonable place to start, but in an open-source culture, a designer could, by all means, contribute to other practices). I will, from now on, publish any good* idea I have. I will publish my ideas on a popular social media outlet, such as Tumblr, and the ideas will free free to use by anyone.

*And as I recently found out, it is not possible to copyright an idea.

This will commence this evening. Why, again, am I doing this?

  1. I may have conceived my own ideas, but who am I to say that I am the best person to act on these ideas?
  2. As a means of encouraging collaboration and sharing generally.
  3. As an experiment.

This is a small move on my part, but as I say, I feel I need to put my money ideas where my mouth is.

This was inspired by Unrealised Projects and Michael Nielson’s TED Lecture about Open Science:

…And many more open-source initiatives.

Josh

2 comments
  1. Jed said:

    Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any helpful hints for beginner blog writers? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • Hi Jed,

      Thanks for the kind words! I am an aspiring blog writer too and have little exposure to really writing for an audience. So all that I’ve done here is for myself. So I suppose that’s my advice: write for yourself. Write about things your enthusiastic and thoroughly interested in and it will all come to you. I only write when I have something to write about, otherwise the writing will be sloppy and shallow.

      Good luck with it all!
      Josh

Leave a comment